New Zealand Golf names 2019 Astor Trophy team

New Zealand Golf names 2019 Astor Trophy team

New Zealand Golf has named a mix of youth and experience to play for the Astor Trophy in Canada in August.

Auckland is well represented with Wenyung Keh and Carmen Lim making the team. Wellington’s Julianne Alvarez makes her third Astor Trophy appearance and Canterbury’s Amelia Garvey is selected for her first.

This year’s Astor Trophy will take place at Royal Colwood Golf Club, Victoria, British Columbia, August 26th – September 1st.

Formerly known as the Commonwealth Tournament, the Astor Trophy is contested every four years between teams of top women amateur golfers from Great Britain and Ireland, Australia, Canada, New Zealand and South Africa. The format is two foursomes and four (previously five) singles matches each day.

Gregg Thorpe, High Performance Manager of New Zealand Golf believes the tournament presents a great opportunity for two of the younger players in Lim and Garvey to spend some time with two of the most experienced, Keh and Alvarez.

“This is a very unique event, it only happens every four years but it’s one all the players want to play,” said Thorpe.

“They get to test themselves against some great nations from the North as well as some of our better-known Southern Hemisphere counterparts.”

New Zealand, who has finished runner-up five times, has never won the Astor Trophy, but this team will head to Canada looking to go one better this time round.

Astor Trophy Fact Box
When: August 26th – September 1st.
Where: Royal Colwood Golf Club, Victoria, British Columbia, Canada.
New Zealand Team: Wenyung Keh (Auckland), Amelia Garvey (Canterbury), Julianne Alvarez (Wellington) and Carmen Lim (Auckland).
Team Coach / Manager: Jay Carter

Posted: Thu 27 Jun 2019